See? I haven’t fallen off the face of the Earth.


“All I need is a Buick/And some money for gasoline”

If you’ve ever been to my faire (well I guess it belongs to boss man but I’d claim it) and heard Retterdyne, you might know what song it is…  I can’t get it to upload the song though and he’s not well enough known to have the lyrics online (and I’m too lazy to type them all out at the moment)…  The part I’m talking about though says “A drunk has got to have his whiskey/ And a smoker needs that nicotine/ All a dreamer really needs is a Buick/ And some money for gasoline” I’m not so sure about the first couple parts but I felt like it wouldn’t sound quite right if it was left out.  (Sorry, I’m rambling).  Anyway in light of my last post, I felt that it was kind of more explanatory than my own ramblings.

Along the same lines, my Dad was home the other day.  Yay!  We went to Gamestop and got Age of Mythology and played that…  I only played once before I had to go to bed because I had an MRI an hour away the next morning.  It was a good game though.  I like it more than Age of Empires, I think; just because it adds the mythological element.  Anyway, when we were coming home from Gamestop my Twin decided he was going to complain to my Dad about me studying religion…  My brother has been on this rant since the beginning of the summer (it’s about to drive me insane).  You see, my Dad is a very practical man…  He believes in the importance of making money.  Now, he wants me to pursue my passion and right now he wants me to focus on learning whatever I want to learn but when I go to college he wants me to get a degree in something that I can make a living off of…  I really don’t think that’s going to happen studying religion…  Daddy says I have to be practical not idealistic.  I’m not a practical person…  I’m like my mom, I guess.  I think I’m just going to have to be my natural impractical self and earn from my own mistakes…  I know that sounds kind of strange because I, at least, have always been told to learn from others mistakes…  But, I think I’ll regret it if I don’t follow what I really want to do…  It makes sense to me…  🙂

I’ve got SO much more I want to write about but I have to go get ready for a Halloween party tonight.

Me 🙂

This entry was posted in General Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to See? I haven’t fallen off the face of the Earth.

  1. Erin says:

    I can see the benefits of both ideas. On one hand, you don’t want to graduate from college and then have to move back home because you can’t find a job. On the other hand, if religion is your passion, then you’ll be miserable if you try to study anything else. I’d suggest picking a school that has a lot of good programs, not just religion programs. That way you can take religion classes while getting your basic requirements out of the way, and if you find out that you’re passionate about something else as well, it won’t be too difficult to study whatever that interest is.

    I can’t say much, my passion is photography and it’s very difficult to make a living in photography. So I’m planning on doing my number 2 passion (teaching) to make money. I’ll let you know how that goes. 🙂

  2. rea says:

    Thanks for commenting, Erin! What you said made some things click in my head that hadn’t clicked yet. Clicking things in my head are good. Now to figure out something else that I could study along with religion… Hmmm… I’m really glad I have a couple of years…
    And you take absolutely amazing pictures.
    🙂

Thoughts?

