Mixed Emotions


So, I’m in the middle of trying to write a post about Easter (it’s taking close to forever…), but I wanted to post the following while the news is still relatively big in the eyes of the world.

The news is the death of Osama Bin Laden.  I, for the life of me, cannot understand why people are celebrating the death of a human being to such a degree.  I understand the feeling of relief that that man is no longer on this Earth, I really do.  But to see “yes yes yes Osama Bin Laden Confirmed Dead we killed him yes yes yes glory to God we killed him” on my Facebook feed this morning seriously disturbs me.  I heard last night that Bin Laden was confirmed dead and it was relief that I felt.  I had nightmares for at least 1/2 a year after 9/11/01.  I would see his face in my sleep and think that he was in my house.  I was very little and just the thought of a man who would feel the need to kill as many people as he did rattled my brain.  But I was not happy, per say, to hear that he was dead.  I was happy that no more people would suffer because of this man.  This man who, yes, was a very very evil, twisted man, but he was a man.  Maybe I’m way too caring for my own good, but I couldn’t help but say a prayer for Osama Bin Laden.  A prayer that somehow, in a way that I certainly don’t understand, my God would save him…  Because he is a human being.  A human being just like me.  I definitely did not pray glory to God because of his death.  I don’t know how you could say that it is to God’s glory that one of His children dies without knowing the love that Christ has for all of the people past, present, and future.  I’m not supporting Bin Laden, I think he was a man who needed to pay for every person he has hurt.  I just can’t celebrate the death of a human, though.

Me

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Thoughts?

