(Before I End up Singing) Drunk Last Night


Sooo…  There’s this insanely catchy song called “Drunk Last Night”, yeah?  Well, here’s the lyrics:

I got a little drunk last night
There’s something ’bout a midnight rain
Staring at the ceiling fan
I couldn’t get you off my brain

I guess I wasn’t thinking straight
I couldn’t tell wrong from right
I went ahead and called you up
I got a little drunk last night

I brought it all up, got it all out
What is it worth, to both of us now
It’s off my chest, but never off my mind
Two drinks in, keep that hurt,
You feel bad, and I feel worse
I swear it’s the last the last time every time
Don’t know why

Might’ve been a song on the radio
Might’ve been nothing, baby I don’t know
Might’ve been a little too tired to fight
Might’ve been I got a little drunk last night

I got a little too far gone
I was talking way too loud
I don’t remember what I said
I just remember breaking down

I brought it all up, got it all out
What is it worth, to both of us now
It’s off my chest, but never off my mind
Two drinks in, keep that hurt,
You feel bad, and I feel worse
I swear it’s the last the last time every time
Don’t know why

Might’ve been a song on the radio
Might’ve been nothing, baby I don’t know
Might’ve been a girl who looked like you
Might’ve been a fluke, might’ve been a full moon
Might’ve been a little too tired to fight
Might’ve been I got a little drunk last night

Might’ve been a song on the radio
Might’ve been nothing, baby I don’t know
Might’ve been a girl who looked like you
Might’ve been a fluke, might’ve been a full moon
Might’ve been a little too tired to fight
Might’ve been I got a little drunk

I brought it all up, got it all out
What is it worth, to both of us now
It’s off my chest, but never off my mind
Two drinks in, keep that hurt,
You feel bad, and I feel worse
I swear it’s the last the last time every time

I got a little drunk last night
I got a little drunk last night
Thought I could keep it all inside
But I got a little drunk last night

Ummmm…  Yeah. There’s someone I really want to talk to. Someone I really want to clear things up with.

Thing is, no matter how true it is that “it will never be the right time” or “there will never be enough words”, I can’t. Because I don’t even know what words I would start with.

HOWEVER. I wish I could talk. I wish I had words. Even just a couple. I wish I had the courage (it’s something I really lack). But mostly I just don’t have words yet. Maybe eventually I will. Maybe we can just continue in our chill little way until we’re nice and comfy and words will happen. *shrug* I dunno.

But there is something about the midnight rain.

And heaven help me when I meet someone who looks like you (even worse if they dance me into dizziness).

At the rate words are coming, I’ll be at least 21 before they’ll get here.

And goodness that’s not gonna be good.

Cause it’ll be “I got a little drunk last night because I just absolutely had to tell you these things and ask you these questions and I lack the braveness to do it without alcohol” kinda thing.

Well, not really. I can’t really even stand the smell of alcohol. The chances of me getting drunk are rather slim as I see it now. But still. This is where my mind goes with this song. You understand?  – Always Your Friend <(“)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to (Before I End up Singing) Drunk Last Night

  1. rea says:

    It’s worth mentioning that I completely agree with the ““it will never be the right time” or “there will never be enough words” thoughts. Whole heartedly. Especially in regards to conversations which, while not necessarily negative, are hard ones to have. I’m just finding a balance between distance and being not-so-distant and such. 😉

Thoughts?

