A Note on What Love Looks Like


So, today is the anniversary of my Mom’s parents wedding (if you’ve never met them, they are two of the best people on the face of the world). They’ve been married for 45 years.

I took the opportunity to ask Mamaw about how she and Papaw met… 

Partly because it’s a pretty great story (they met in Florida, but they grew up about an hour-ish apart- one in WV and the other in KY).

Partly because everything that could be going wrong has been going wrong since Tuesday and I need a happy thing.

Partly because there’s a serious mantra of “I’m going to die old and alone” going on in my head (for a lot of reasons, just one of which is that no guy has ever asked me out or anything, which kind of sucks when people like 2-4 years older than me are getting married and having babies…  The other fifty reasons are new ones and scary ones and such things).

Partly because she told me that there is someone out there for me.

Well, what I learned is that (a) My Papaw always knew he wanted to marry her. (b) They only knew each other for 7 months before they got married. (c) Their relationship was built almost entirely over the phone in the beginning (because of work schedules and military stuffs and such things).

So, yeah. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY MAMAW AND PAPAW!

And hope is always there. I don’t much feel like talking about the new scary things that popped into my head and scared the hope away for a bit. But it’s back. And that is good. 

(As a side note- I don’t even know why this is such an issue for me right now. I’ve never {and still don’t} had any inclination to date just to be dating…  But I guess part of it is I want someone to share cool life things with, and I’ll be leaving the people I’ve always done that with in the near future {i.e.- my siblings and Mom}. Plus, well, it’s a different kind of need to share things than it is with the family you’re born with. So I guess I’m being normal.)

Stay warm, stay dry, stay safe!

Me 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Note on What Love Looks Like

  1. Lady says:

    Hey girl. I haven’t managed to keep up with this recently, so i’m checking out some of your posts.
    Just wanna say your Mamaw’s right. Don’t stress about it, don’t worry that you’re in college and havent been asked out yet. I’ve got friends who have graduated already and still never had a girlfriend. A lot of it has to do with the seriousness. I personally totally agree with you on that. I never dated someone ‘just to be dating them’. I only had serious relationships where I actually liked the guy. I think it’s stupid when some people date someone with the knowlege that it won’t work out, or that they just plan to break up with them. Definitely don’t look for super long term in a guy, but do look for someone where you can’t see an end. That’s totally cool and i approve of that.
    ps. your Mamaw sounds like a really cool person.

    • rea says:

      My Mamaw is really cool. 😀 And I think I’m just antsy. And very nervous that it won’t ever happen… That there’s something I’m doing wrong or whatever. *shrug* I think I’m slowly working through it. But honestly, I can count on one hand the number of long term, happy, healthy relationships that have been pretty steady in my life for me to look up to for hope. And still have fingers left over. I’m afraid that even when I do end up with someone, I’m going to mess it up. I’m afraid of ever having to introduce a boy to my Dad. I’ve had one too many people tell me I intimidate guys. I’m just scared I guess. And I don’t see how I’m going to get over that fear without someone deciding I’m worth it enough to show me that there’s nothing to be afraid of. And ironically, I’m scared that won’t ever happen.

Thoughts?

